Cowboy Bebop

Cowboy Bebop is a recent anime I began watching. Although I still have 2 episodes to go, I just wanted to write about it.

The name’s a bit weird, but let’s not judge that, shall we? Cowboy Bebop is about a space bounty hunter, and bounty hunters are called ‘Cowboys’. Bebop comes from the name of his ship. It’s only about 26 episodes, but that’s good.

I don’t want to spoil it for you, so I’m not going to go into detail. The story revolves around Spike and Jet, as they attempt to bring in some money by catching some people with bounties on their heads. Along they way, a dog (Ein), a woman with an attitude (Faye) and a young girl (Edward, and yes you read that right) join them on their adventures. It may not sound like anything special at the moment, but it’s comical, sad and entertaining. You find yourself wanting to marathon it so you can find out more and quicker.

Another thing I’m quite fond of in this anime, is it’s diversity. By that I don’t mean aliens; but humans. Normally in anime they’re just Caucasian (and I don’t only mean animes set in Japan) but in this there’s a wide variety. And as a coloured person, I always pick up these things. Not to mention when I go to comic-con this Summer I have another option to cosplay as!

If you’re into a bit of comedy and action, then definitely add this to your list to watch. (Also the opening them song is pretty cool.)

(Note. There is also a movie out there set between episodes 22 and 23, so when I watch it I will review it).

Leave a Reply

