The best type of video game?

I’m going to get straight to the point. Games that play on the butterfly effect are the best games. And by that I mean games where your choices influence the outcome. The more possible outcomes, the better the game. Games where if you choose one thing, it effects you later on. I’m going to use ‘Until Dawn’ (PS4) as my example.

In Until Dawn (spoilers!)  your outcomes can range from everybody living and everybody dying. If you choose to pick up an object, or read a book, it could come in use later on. Going left or going right could be between life and death. If you choose to ‘sacrifice’ yourself (spoiler. it’s a prank), then you gain a relationship with somebody else and they help you later on (thus, saving your life). You can also define each characters traits, as well as their relationships with other characters. Unfortunately I can’t afford a PS4 but I’ve watched plenty of playthroughs online. Other examples of this type of game are ‘Life is Strange’, ‘Beyond: Two Souls’ and ‘Heavy Rain’.

Other things that make games good… image, that’s obvious. The new Tomb Raider pleases me due to it’s clarity. I’m very picky about the image of the games I play. Also, the story and dialogue. There’s a lot of games out there, so it is hard to come up with things we haven’t seen before. But a good, flowing story line with a good, not-rushes ending is key. I’ve never been one for Fifa or COD or whatever; I like games to have stories. I want to learn something. Be intrigued. And with dialogue… people often overlook it. It can’t be bland. I want to learn about the characters; I don’t want them to all sound the same. Make they each have personalities, and they talk about things other than ‘I have a bad feeling about this’ or ‘we’ve gotta get out of here!’.

Puzzles also make them good. Puzzles and action. By puzzles I don’t mean a literal one like in Professor Layton. It could be more discreet. Like having to figure out a combination to a safe. And with action, I like a challenge, but not a throw-your-controller-at-the-tv-challenge. I may sound boring, but that’s just me. And constant action can get a little tiresome and repetitive. Allow the user to use their brain in a fight; like allowing them to shoot other objects to blow the enemy up or something.

The final thing is setting. On one hand I like a certain path you have to follow, but I also love a game with an open world. You’re given more freedom, and it’s like a virtual reality (I’m thinking of Skyrim here, to be honest). I also enjoy it when you can create your character. Make them look like you (or what you wished you looked like). Then it feels like you’re truly in the game.

Not really any purpose of this blog, but it’s a thought. If you’re like me, you may enjoy these games… 1. Assassin’s Creed (most of them). 2. Uncharted 3. Tomb Raider and Lara Croft in general 4. Heavy Rain 5. Beyond: Two Souls 6. Lego. It’s a guilty pleasure. 7. Skyrim. The open world is amazing! 8. GTA 5. I’m not on about so you can go to an animated strip club; but you do get a lot of freedom in it.

Leave a Reply

