Black Butler

Black Butler was the first anime I bought. I’ve obviously watched some before it, but this was the first I decided to spend my money on. I take my friends suggestions very seriously. (It wasn’t expensive really, but for me it was).

Black Butler is about a boy (Ciel) whose parents are killed. Out of desperation he made a deal with a demon; the demon will help find those responsible, and when that is carried out, the demon will devour his soul. The demon takes the place of his butler and is called Sebastian. They then take on mysteries the queen sets them out on, as well as trying to figure out who’s behind everything.

Overall; it’s good. It’s gorey and funny at a lot of times. Sure, the English accent is very typical, but the show has an interesting storyline and unique characters. Ciel is one of the only characters I’ve seen to maintain anger and revenge throughout the story, without learning to deal with it. Sure, the anime goes a little different to the manga partway through, but it’s still enjoyable. Any anime that can get your blood boiling when you see a certain character is probably pretty good. Not to mention the art in the show is fantastic, and very pleasing to look at (I find). Sure, one of the characters pisses me the fuck off, and Ciel is a pretty black and white character, but they’re minor in comparison to the enjoyment I got out of it. So if you like a bit of gore, an attempt of the English (not British) accent, crime solving, attractive demons and humour, then do give it a try!

(Did I mention the show also makes you imagine a life with unimaginable wealth? I spent days imaging it!)

3 comments

  1. Anime_Girls_NYC · April 5, 2016

    Sebastian is amazing. Love him! I am grell in real life hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    • hungrylittlehikikomori · April 5, 2016

      A part of me wishes I too had a demon, but I wouldn’t know what to do with it! It’s just odd as I share the name ‘Hannah’ with the demon…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Anime_Girls_NYC · April 5, 2016

        Hahaha yeah you guys can’t have he same name. I will cause trouble with people so hey can protect me haha

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

